30-second privacy check every Google and Facebook user must do today

Much of it is collected, compiled, and sold to the highest bidder. Suspicious people search sites and data brokers make it your business to know as much about you as possible. 

This data collection happens in the background, and there is a lot of it that you freely give away. For example, everything you write on Google, YouTube, Gmail, Google Drive and everything else.

I know it’s very convenient, but I bet you made a big mistake with your data.

The two-way street for data sharing

Let’s say a website requires you to log in to read an article. You are presented with the option to create an account to access the article. That takes time, but oh, you see!

You can simply log in with your Facebook or Google account. No new account is needed, what a happy day.

You may not realize that at the same time you logged in with your Facebook or Google account, you disclosed more data tracking points. Everything you’re likely to do on the site gets sent back to Facebook or Google. That website can also retrieve data from Facebook or Google.

That’s why if you read an article about good Italian wines, you immediately start seeing wine ads.

Stop Facebook from tracking you outside of Facebook

Facebook is known for collecting a ton of data. Your Privacy Center is transparent if you know how to navigate it.

To see the third-party apps and services you’re connected to on Facebook over the years, follow these steps. It shouldn’t take more than 30 seconds to find the entire list and discard anything you choose.

On your computer:

  • ● Sign in, then click the Arrow down in the upper right corner.
  • ● Click Settings and privacy > Select settings.
  • ● Click Apps and websites in the menu on the left side. If you don’t see it, choose Security and log in to apps and websites.

On an iPhone:

  • ● Open the Facebook app and tap the three-line menu in the bottom right corner.
  • ● Select Settings and privacy > Settings.
  • ● Scroll down to the Permissions section, then tap Apps and websites.

On an Android device:

  • ● Open the Facebook app, then touch the Three-line menu.
  • ● Select Settings and privacy > Settings.
  • ● Scroll down to Securitythen play Apps and websites.
  • ● Select Sign in with Facebook.

Once you see the apps and websites connected to Facebook, you can start hacking them one by one. Delete everything you don’t want to have your data and track you.

FILE - This file photo shows the Facebook app icon on an iPhone in New York.

FILE – This file photo shows the Facebook app icon on an iPhone in New York.
(AP Photo/Karly Domb Sadof, File)

LISTEN: If you have half an hour and a pair of headphones, check out this episode of my podcast, Kim Komando Today. I look at how companies and government agencies buy their data. No, federal agencies cannot seize your data without a court order or your permission, but they can buy it from data brokers.

Get out of Google’s reach

Next, let’s go to Google and search for connected services. You might find that a site you haven’t used in years keeps getting updates about you.

  • ● To get started, visit the Linked accounts page while signing in to your Google account. Here you will see all the accounts you signed up for using your Google account.
  • ● If you want to remove access, touch or click Disconnect.

Are some of the apps refusing to unlink? That is not a coincidence. Some third-party apps won’t let you sign out of Google. You have to open the app and look through its settings. Look for a section that says Linked Accounts, Connected Accounts, or something similar.

The app you are using should allow you to log out. Just follow the instructions on the screen.

FILE PHOTO: An image illustration shows a Facebook logo reflected in a person’s eye.

(REUTERS/Dado Ruvic/Illustration/File Photo)

Next, check which apps and services have access to at least part of your Google account. This may include your calendar, email inbox, accounts, or basic account information.

To check and remote access:

● Go to myaccount.google.com/security.

● Low Third-party apps with account access select Manage third-party access.

● Click on an application or service to see what it can access. Click remove access if you so choose.

Now what?

Protecting yourself online can seem like a never-ending task. Check out these handy guides for more ways to protect your private data:

● 8 Hidden Maps and Trackers You Should Turn Off

● Do you think Big Tech knows a lot? Your ISP is just as bad

● New trick to know when your phone’s camera or microphone is being used

● Your Email Is Being Tracked: Learn The Secret Advertisers Don’t Want You To Know

● Smartphone privacy: 3 types of apps that collect more data than you think

Bonus tip: Stop Facebook Tracking, Secret Camera Trick & Why You See Ads When, You Stream

In this podcast, I help three people who find themselves in difficult situations. You want to protect your child from malicious players. Another wants expensive cameras at cheap prices. I am sharing some tech tricks you can use to save money and protect your privacy. I also got the scoop on a secret Facebook setting that stops tracking.